History

Glenada History


Glenada is a real part of Newcastle’s rich History with Glenada House, the old partĀ of the building still being used with the dining room, 2 syndicate rooms and lounge all still housed in this iconic building.

Glenada House, 1940
Glenada House, 1940

Glenada House was built to replace a previous building called Glenada Hotel. It was used to provide Holidays for YWCA groups in the early 1900s and was owned by a Mr Gray who rented it to YWCA but a very low rate to enable the YWCA to provide these holidays.

Mrs Smyly & Mrs Livingstone were among the early managers and the current main conference room is named the Smyly Livingstone Room.
Updated, new part of building was built in the early 2000s and comprises of most of the bedrooms, 2 Conference rooms, Reception, Office and servery and much of the old part of the building was renovated at this time.

*We are currently working on this page and hope to add much more detail on the history in the next few weeks.*

 

Croquet on the Lawn, 1910
Croquet on the Lawn, 1910